TZ ruling party drops four from presidential nomination contest

Former Prime Minister Edward Lowassa, one of the favourites win the nomination

Former Prime Minister Edward Lowassa, one of the favourites to win the nomination

Tanzania’s governing party Chama Cha Mapapinduzi (CCM) has disqualified four candidates from the nomination contest to choose the flag bear for October general election.

CCM has dropped Dr. Mussa Kalokola, Hellena Elinawinga, Anthony Chalamila and Peter Nyalali because they could not the beat Thursday’s deadline to submit their credentials

The quartet failed to return their completed forms by 4:30 am Thursday July 2.

According to the party’s election calendar, all candidates seeking to be nominated were supposed to return forms with at least 450 signatures from CCM members by the set deadline.

The 38 members who successfully returned their signed forms will wait for further decision in the next few weeks.

CCM Ideology and Publicity Secretary Nape Nnauye said the candidates will be screened by the National Executive Committee Secretariat on July 7 and later the Central Committee which is scheduled to sit on July 8 in Dodoma.

The final three names out of 38 aspirants will be forwarded to the party’s General Assembly that is slated for July 11.

The General Assembly, chaired by President Jakaya Kikwete will then vote to choose his successor and CMM flag bearer in the October 25 general election.

Former Premier Edward Lowassa is among the favorites to clinch the nomination.

Chama Cha Mapinduzi (CCM) is the dominant political party in Tanzanian politics and its candidate is the favourite to win the forth coming presidential election and be the next President of the East African nation.