TZ ruling party retains National Assembly Speakership

I WILL SERVE BY THE BOOK: Tanzania's incoming parliamentary speaker, Job Ndugai of the ruling Chama Cha Mapinduzi (CCM)

I WILL SERVE BY THE BOOK: Tanzania’s incoming parliamentary speaker, Job Ndugai of the ruling Chama Cha Mapinduzi (CCM)

The Member of Parliament for Kongwa constituency in Dodoma, Tanzania, Job Ndugai has been elected speaker of the country’s new parliament with two-thirds of the vote.

Ndugai, 55, is also a member of the ruling Chama Cha Mapinduzi (CCM), the party that emerged victorious in last month’s presidential election.

He becomes the 7th speaker of Tanzania’s legislative body since the reintroduction of multiparty politics in 1992.

Ndugai beat other seven candidates including Goodluck Ole Medeye, former Deputy Minister of Lands and the opposition coalition UKAWA’s choice for speaker. Mr. Medeye came in second with 109 votes

The Coalition of People’s Constitution (UKAWA) is made up of four opposition parties; Chadema, Civic United Front (CUF), NCCR-Mageuzi, and National League for Democracy (NLD).

Other candidates are Hassan Almasi of National Reconstruction Alliance (NRA), Dr Godfrey Malisa of Chama cha Kijamii (CCK), Shadrack Lyimo (TLP), Hashim Rungwe (Chaumma), Pater Sarungu of the Alliance for Tanzania Farmers (AFP), and Robert Kisinini of Democratic Party (DP).

The 11th parliament that opened Tuesday has 394 elected and appointed members. For the first the legislative body is has over 100 opposition members.

The new speaker vowed to diligently serve the interests of the electorate and according to rules and regulations governing the body. He told reporters in Dodoma that “I’m ready and committed to deliver people’s interests and expectations.”

Ndugai, served as Deputy Speaker for five years in the previous parliament. He was unopposed within his party two other contestants withdrew their candidacies in the party nomination race.

CCM’s Central Committee (CC) on Sunday evening forwarded names of three candidates; Abdullah Mwinyi , Dr Tulia Akson Mwansasu and Ndugai to the secretariat of the party’s parliamentary caucus but by Monday the other two candidates had dropped out leaving Ndugai to tussle it out with the opposition candidates.

He sailed through easily with 254 votes. Job Ndugai has served as Member of Parliament for Kongwa Constituency since 2000.